Find out what progress I'm making with new books, and hear about my plans



Special Offer !  

While stocks last, the Joslin de Lay Mysteries, the Hare Trilogy and Out of the Mouths of Babes are sold as new, signed by the author and personally dedicated to the buyer if specified !  Click here for details



If you want to see want you can buy that is currently in print, there is an update to this section here.  For links to buy books secondhand through Amazon Marketplace, see the complete works here.





You can purchase all my current books at Amazon, and you can even get the older ones from Amazon marketplace.



Now available from OUP

The paperback edition of Mystery Stories - click on the picture.  From creepy school computers to bungling bank robbers; from lost villages to deadly Christmas presents :




Hare’s Choice, Badger’s Fate, Hawk’s Vision


Click here for the background


Click here for the critics' reaction


Or read on for the publishing history



Publishing history


Hare’s Choice was first published in hardback by Andre Deutsch in 1988.  A paperback edition was published in 1990 by Collins.  It was published in 1991 in the the USA by Delacorte and a Dell Yearling paperback appeared in 1993.  This edition was selected as a Favourite Paperback for 1994 by the International Reading Association.   It is to be reissued in 2006 by Barn Owl.


Badger’s Fate was published in hardback by Scholastic, successors to Andre Deutsch, in 1992 and Hawk’s Vision followed in 1993.   These books are to appear concurrently with the Barn Owl edition of Hare’s Choice, published Print-on-Demand by Back-to-Front.


The animal characters depicted in the animal heaven section of Hare’s Choice appeared by permission of their publishers.  Permission for the use of  Hazel, Bigwig and Fiver from Watership Down and the two dogs from Plague Dogs was given personally by Richard Adams, who also wrote a generous endorsement of the book which appeared on the cover of the Dell Yearling edition.

Yule Logs now out !

Click on the cover to order from Amazon UK

Christmas has always been and always will be a special time of year, a time either of great happiness or great sadness and sometimes both.   Here are eight stories of different Christmases, all of which are memorable in their different ways.

The stories are arranged in order of age: the first for young children, the last for adults.

There are two World War 2 stories, one which refers to it and one which refers to another war.  There’s a football story, a ghost story and  two stories with carols in them - and a lot more besides.   There’s a story about a really weird Christmas guest and another about a tumultuous family row.   All ordinary Christmases to start with, but which turn into being anything but ordinary.

Each story has a postscript telling what real memory lies behind it and how it came to be written.



Many of my earlier books are back in print via the Back-to-Front imprint of the Solidus Press. I have chosen some of my favourites to be rereleased by this new publisher. Here are some that you can read now :


The Great Football Treble

All three books are now available.  You can buy them by clicking on the titles :

Haunted United

Beautiful Games

Death Penalty


Two chilling ghost stories

You can buy them by clicking on the titles :

The Ghosts Who Waited

The Railway Phantoms